Let's talk about 20-year-olds

General out-of-character discussion among players of Cantr II.

Moderators: Public Relations Department, Players Department

Father Brian

Let's talk about 20-year-olds

Postby Father Brian » Mon Jul 20, 2015 3:37 am

Hello there, I'm Father Brian!

I started playing in April. None of my characters are older than 25. It'll be a good long while before my oldest characters escape being 20-years-old. Yes, escape.

Cantr, we need to talk about how you treat new players.

I have played many straight-PVP MMOs, and never before have I been welcomed by the veteran playerbase with such overt and pervasive hostility. Even EVE Online and Urban Dead are friendlier to new players than Cantr's playerbase. For a game with threads about getting new players, and fear of the game dying, the playerbase seems to have very little actual intention of making the game welcoming to new people. I actually held off from making this post for over a month, because I thought perhaps I had just had an uniquely bad experience. Since then, my initial impressions have been confirmed again and again, and while there are absolutely characters (and likely the players behind those characters) who do not follow the trends I've listed below, these people are sadly in the minority.

Let's begin with the overall problem: Cantr players have zero trust in 20-year-old characters, newspawns and otherwise, which has translated into contempt, paranoia, and hair-trigger violence towards them. I can break this distrust down further, into 1: fear of 'crazy' newspawns, 2: a great sense of entitlement towards newspawns, 3: a fear that all newspawns will turn out to be thieves and killers, and 4: that you're either a newspawn, or you're no longer 20-years-old.