Console Games: How do you get yours?

This forum is for discussion and advertising of games not related to Cantr II.

Moderators: Public Relations Department, Players Department

How do you mainly get your (premium) console games?

Buy new
33%
Buy used
56%
Rent by mail
No votes
Rent from a local store
6%
Borrow
6%

Total votes: 18
Chris

Console Games: How do you get yours?

Postby Chris » Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:52 pm

How do you get your console games? Why?

I have been buying used PS3 games, usually a couple of years old. I typically pay $10 per game, more or less, plus shipping, from Glyde.com. (I've also used GameStop, but I like how Glyde is integrated into Metacritic's game pages.) Obviously, I don't need the latest games. I also don't think I go through games fast enough to justify a rental subscription at GameFly or Blockbuster.

There are also downloaded games. (I didn't include those in the poll because it's self-explanatory how one gets them.) I have a PlayStation Plus subscription and have gotten quite a few games as part of the bargain.
gejyspa

Re: Console Games: How do you get yours?

Postby gejyspa » Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:01 am

I chose "borrow", but to clarify, I borrow them from the local library, which lends them for free for a (renewable) three week time period.
DylPickle

Postby DylPickle » Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:04 am

Games from a library? That's new.
gejyspa

Postby gejyspa » Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:26 am

They've been doing it for a few years now. (actually, before that, they also had free computer games, starting all the way back to the early 90s)
Chris

Postby Chris » Thu Jun 23, 2011 1:05 pm

Libraries are awesome: free Internet access, books, DVDs, music, and (now we hear) games.

From the poll, it seems that buying used is popular. Where do people buy their used games?
masterekat

Postby masterekat » Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:23 pm

Game eXchange or Gamestop
Shaderon
Location: England (The rain center of the universe or so it seems)