Radio Repair Requests

Forum for general requests for support for players. Both staff members and veteran players can help new players with problems they encounter. No chatting in this forum, please.

Moderators: Players Department, Public Relations Department, Players Department Trainee, Programming Department

User avatar
EchoMan
Posts: 7767
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 1:01 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Radio repeaters are not working.

Postby EchoMan » Wed May 18, 2011 1:32 pm

There are several errors in the game logs referring to radio usage. I'll have a look at them when I can find time.
ichi
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 6:25 am

Re: Radio repeaters are not working.

Postby ichi » Wed May 25, 2011 1:07 am

If it is not possible to fix the radio repeaters, then they should be removed from the build menu. Extended repeaters take a long time to build and they require hard-to-find resources. It is extremely frustrating to devote all that effort to building a repeater and then find it doesn't work.
User avatar
SekoETC
Posts: 15502
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 11:07 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Radio repeaters are not working.

Postby SekoETC » Wed May 25, 2011 11:04 am

If they did work before or do work somewhere, surely it's possible to fix them.
Not-so-sad panda
curious

Re: Radio repeaters are not working.

Postby curious » Wed May 25, 2011 5:05 pm

Is it possible to simply extend the range of an extended radio transmitter temporarily? This way those with working repeaters wouldn't much notice, and those with broken ones would at least have the communication they had. I suppose there would be people with no repeaters in the network, but extended transmitters who would maybe notice an advantage, and this may be unfair, in game?
User avatar
SekoETC
Posts: 15502
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 11:07 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Radio repeaters are not working.

Postby SekoETC » Wed May 25, 2011 5:13 pm

I would like to measure which repeaters (and other radios) are actually close enough to reach each other but figuring out where something is located isn't all that simple. Of course if it's said that the repeaters used to work and then stopped working should indicate that it's not a range problem, unless someone changed the range, but I don't see why someone would do that.
Not-so-sad panda
User avatar
Doug R.
Posts: 14857
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Radio repeaters are not working.

Postby Doug R. » Wed May 25, 2011 5:29 pm

Well, the KISS method (Keep it simple, stupid) and Occam's razor dictate that the repeater ranges in the DB be checked first before we expend lots of time on the problem.
Hamsters is nice. ~Kaylee, Firefly
User avatar
SekoETC
Posts: 15502
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 11:07 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Radio repeaters are not working.

Postby SekoETC » Wed May 25, 2011 5:58 pm

They're the same as in the wiki.
Not-so-sad panda
User avatar
Doug R.
Posts: 14857
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Radio repeaters are not working.

Postby Doug R. » Wed May 25, 2011 6:05 pm

Of course, any savvy intruder could change both, but I never saw a notice of repeater ranges being changed.
Hamsters is nice. ~Kaylee, Firefly
ichi
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 6:25 am

Re: Radio repeaters are not working.

Postby ichi » Sat Jun 04, 2011 6:56 pm

If it is not possible to fix the radio repeaters, then they should be removed from the build menu.

Extended repeaters take a long time to build and they require hard-to-find resources. It is extremely frustrating to devote all that effort to building a repeater and then find it doesn't work.
User avatar
SekoETC
Posts: 15502
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 11:07 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Radio repeaters are not working.

Postby SekoETC » Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:23 pm

You've already said that once, I don't think it was necessary to repeat it. It's difficult to investigate the problem but I find it hard to believe that they would simply suddenly stop working.

Edit: I'm setting up a simplified copy of the network on my computer and at the moment it looks like it's not relying the messages, although I may have misunderstood how it's supposed to work. More testing is required.

Edit2: I think I may have located the problem.
Not-so-sad panda
User avatar
SekoETC
Posts: 15502
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 11:07 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Radio repeaters are not working.

Postby SekoETC » Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:10 am

It should be fixed now but somebody better test it to make sure. And you were right, they were all broken, not just the ones on Cantr island.
Not-so-sad panda
User avatar
Ronja Rotschopf
Posts: 3540
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 7:04 pm
Location: Leipzig - Germany
Contact:

Re: Radio repeaters are not working.

Postby Ronja Rotschopf » Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:10 am

I think the previous testing was OOC, so it would be better to add "OOC", if it's just a test for the player and if the character(s) can't know the result
ichi
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 6:25 am

Re: Radio repeaters are not working.

Postby ichi » Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:52 pm

Thank you. The repeaters on Cantr island are now working.
wadko
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 8:51 am

Re: Radio repeaters are not working. (fixed)

Postby wadko » Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:27 am

Could you run the repairing script for radio transmitters, repeaters and receives?
User avatar
Pilot
GAB/PD Chair/LO(esp)/RD/PO
Posts: 7500
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 3:32 pm

Re: Radio repeaters are not working. (fixed)

Postby Pilot » Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:29 am

Done.

Return to “General Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest