The game is dying?

General out-of-character discussion among players of Cantr II.

Moderators: Public Relations Department, Players Department

cutecuddlydirewolf

The game is dying?

Postby cutecuddlydirewolf » Tue Mar 10, 2015 10:25 pm

I'm sure I'm not the only one who's noticed how few players Cantr has nowadays. I remember that when I started playing about a year ago, it wasn't unusual for over 200 people to be on at once... now it's less than half that.
It also seems as though many well-played characters are dying off, not to mention the dozens upon dozens of sleepers who have an extremely small chance of waking.
What I want to know is if there's a way to get more players to join Cantr, so the game can be active and fun again. :| Personally, I think that Cantr needs more promotion... yes, I've read the other thread, and done everything that it's suggested, but it hasn't helped.
I'm wondering if it may be the addition of the tutorial world that's causing the decrease in players. Before the world was created, new players would be thrust right into the thick of things, which, for me as a newbie, was incredibly exciting. It's what gave me a lasting interest in the game.
However, it's ALL newbies in the tutorial world, which means less structure and less of a chance for good roleplay. I'm curious whether this first impression of Cantr has made more than a few new players become bored or annoyed with the game, which then leads to them giving up on it...
Just to clarify, I'm not hating on the people who developed the tutorial world or those who suggested the idea in the first place. Forgive me if I'm being naive, but I'm just trying to think of reasons behind the sudden decline of players, so it can be fixed. Cantr is one of the most fascinating games out there, and I would hate to see it simply die off....
Finchington

Re: The game is dying?

Postby Finchington » Tue Mar 10, 2015 10:58 pm

I actually agree with that sentiment.